Day 12 scan – nervous

Another scan this morning  – according to the doctor my lining is ‘lovely’, ‘very nice’ and, in fact, ‘beautiful’ – that’s right, my womb lining is beautiful, no matter what they say. Words can’t bring it down.

Things have also improved slightly on the follicle front – I currently have 4 on the right and 3 on the left. They are growing ‘nicely’. For some reason my doctor is  very cagey about giving millimetres. He will not be drawn into a size conversation under any circumstances. ‘Nice’ like 16 millimetres nice? 5 millimetres nice? I will just have to take his word for it.

So, pretty good all in all. I’m worried though. He wants me to keep taking the Menopur (stimulation drug) for another couple of days – until Monday. That’s day 14! I haven’t ‘stimmed’ for that long before, and I’m on a high dose (375 down from 450). I’m nervous about ovulating early and ruining my chances even though I’m on Cetrotide, which is supposed to prevent ovulation. I consulted Dr Google (of course) and this does happen sometimes. There is also a link between extended high dose stims and poor egg quality. So, now I’m worried. What if my puny follicles can’t take an extra couple of days of growth juice and implode?

Husband told me to stop worrying. I can’t. Today I’m worried about this. Next week it will be egg collection, then I’ll worry about fertilisation, then I’ll worry about egg transfer, then I’ll worry about the 2ww, etc etc ad infinitum. Anyway, watch this space.

6 thoughts on “Day 12 scan – nervous

  1. thegreatpuddingclubhunt says:

    Honestly I think that the doctor wouldn’t risk that happening to you because I am sure these people are so driven by getting success stories. But it’s certainly crappy having to take even more injections :-s I definitely feel for you.

    BTW – I love it when docs call your reproductive parts beautiful! In my head all I’m thinking is ‘bless, their lives must be so sad to think of these things as beautiful!’ I can just imagine how they find their partners in life somehow involves a full gynecological work up before any marriage proposal/acceptance!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

